bbaBig Brother Africa is the African version of the Big Brother reality game show. The show involved 12 countries within Africa (Angola, Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe).

Each country provided a contestant living in an isolated house while trying to avoid being evicted by viewers and ultimately winning a large cash prize at the end of the show.

It premiered to audiences in 42 African countries on Sunday May 25, 2003 making it the first time in the world that the internationally famous program was created using participants of different nationalities from one continent. Carried by leading African pay-television provider M-Net and 24 hours live by DStv Channel 37, Big Brother Africa was also screened by 25 free-to-air broadcasters (in 9 countries) on the continent reaching an estimated audience of 30 million viewers.




Date: 2003

Studio: Endemol South Africa, MNet

Share This: